Healing in the Land of the Bullies

IMG_0946The storms, continuous. There are good days that have been very good days, a reminder that the storms do, in fact, blow over. Healing happens in the storms: injustice, hardships, pain.  Some people are like storms(!),( they bring chaos, frenzy, intensity. Others are like good days, bringing the sun, clarity, calm. There are unexplainable moments of beauty in the storms.  The dark storms come, without beauty: the bad stuff, people who want to make life hellish / difficult / cruel  … I feel bullied.  And, I try to remember: there is healing.  Healing in the land of the bullies.   IMG_0946  I am not a victim; I (we) have what it takes to do the next thing.  I’ve worked with kids, removed from the home because of the parents’ own style of bullying … sexual abuse and neglect. I think about people in Michigan, violently bullied by a man with a gun, illogical, brutal.  I recall images of people in Paris, running for safety, away from terrorists killing innocent citizens.  I think of bullies like cancer, Parkinson’s Disease; I think of bullies who target students in school; I think of corporations saturated with greed bullying American consumers; I think of women, men, harassed in the work place unmercifully.  Such a small list.  So, the healing … it is not just about me.  It cannot be just about me.  Yet, there are times when I get preoccupied with “self”, and I believe it is about me.  

When we are bullied by people we do business with; when we are bullied by life; the car that breaks down in route to a meeting; the depression that rears it’s ugly head, our joy sliding away … when those times happen, our anguish is real and legitimate, and we do need healing.  We need healing in the Land of the bullies.  And in that healing, we can sometimes see a little more than what … initially … meets the eye.

image

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Healing in the Land of the Bullies

    1. Beth, your replies are definitely gifts to me, reminders of what needs to be my focus. Where the pinholes of light are, and where the views of hope are, those places are where you will be! Thanks! For, there are fierce pulls coming from the places of hopeless ness and the bleakness, that have ensnared many men, far better men than I.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Eric! What a cyber-bonus for me today to get a dispatch from you! I made an assumption back a aways that when you stepped out of the blogging realm, that I probably shouldn’t be connecting with you … as you had some big projects happening … and if all of your blogging fans EMAILed you, it would make things a bit difficult to focus on your new adventures! Please know that I have respected your time and energy by not invading your cyber-space !! So good to hear from you, and I hope you are prospering and enjoying your life. T

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

