Father Delayed: First Part

Been thinking about that infamous, potentially disruptive, annual, “thing” known as Father’s Day.  A bit late to acknowledge this, eh?  What was it, two weeks ago?  That’s part of it.  Something so intense comes around, and the rule is that we say what we need to say on Father’s Day …. Maybe a few days before, maybe a day afterwards.

As for me?  Father delayed, and great apologies.  Part of it is that things come up in my thinking, my experience, my memories, my disruption, and I just cannot get from “Point A” to “Point B”.  Here is an example of what I am talking about.  I saw a movie with Chris Farley in it … Maybe the film was “Black Sheep”.  Farley is lost in the woods,  probably doesn’t realize that he is on the top of a rocky incline.  He stumbles, or trips, or both, and tumbles downward over the sloped rocky ground.  There are some special effects, I suppose, as it shows this funny man with a healthy girth  in slow motion … rising up into the air, and falling back down (again in slow motion).  Facial expressions are classic: disorientation and shock.  This fall of Farley’s seems to keep going and going.  Finally, he stops.  He stands up, looks back up the mountain from where he came, hair pointing in  10 to 20 different directions. And then he speaks these words, these profound and thought-provoking words:

 

“What ‘the hell was that all about?”

 

http://www.moviemusic.com/soundtrack/M00566/fatherofthebride2/

So, yeah that was something like my experience this year for Father’s day.  Every year I struggle with the images of Father’s Day … I mean, don’t you think … Fatherhood looks quite differently across the board?

Still no grandchildren, nor any grown-up children.  So … therefore … I can’t really relate to Steve Martin and the role he plays in “Father of the Bride”.  

 

 

This is the first part of the Father Delayed series.  I’ll crank out the second part as soon as I can.  I didn’t realize how much was on my mind about being a dad, and having a dad.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Father Delayed: First Part

  1. There is no mold you have to fit. I think holidays in particular bring on that pressure (of how to celebrate the day, how we should’ve been as mother, father, parent-figure who prepped for the big day, etc).

    Like

Leave a Reply

