Land of Story and Journey

In a short interchange with a friend, many years ago, I spoke a sentence out of my spontaneity, which is not uncommon:

“Here we are, my friend, in the midst of reality.”

“(Pause) I was there, once, but I was just passing through.”

We do pass through the Land of Story and Journey.  Both, story and journey, are to be respected … in the telling, and in the hearing.  We do not stay, long, in the Land of Story and Journey.  A paradox is found in that our stories are not finished, and always ongoing.  Our journeys started long ago.  Journey’s end is down the road; we definitely are not there, yet, though we may be close.  There is a gift, when we hear about the journeys of others; when we hear the stories of others; depending on what the story is, depending on what the journey is about.  Great things happen in the Land of Story and Journey.  And tragedies happen there, as well.  Courage comes with the telling of our stories; courage comes with us on our journeys.  I am a thankful man, to be able to pass through the Land of Story and Journey with other story tellers and other sojourners.  

 

8 thoughts on “Land of Story and Journey

  1. i so agree, and i feel happy to visit your land of story and journey. thanks for stopping by to wave as you pass through mine as well. i believe that when stories and journeys cross paths, it makes us all the richer for having had a new experience, and a wider point of vision is opened up, never to be so closed again by our own limitations.

    Like

  2. I know I find great comfort in the wee hours of the morning (when I can’t sleep & the end of my journey seems to haunt my sleepless thoughts) in the plain old truth that all our journeys end the same way. So very very many have walked this road before. Like George Strait said (or something thereabouts) ‘I’ve never seen a hearse with a luggage rack.’ Or as Red Green says, ‘We’re all in this together.’

    Like

    1. This is quite beautiful what you have written, like this: “I know I find great comfort in the wee hours of the morning (when I can’t sleep & the end of my journey seems to haunt my sleepless thoughts) … ” Nice. Red Green !!! We used to watch Red Green on PBS, but I can’t get that channel on our TV, currently. Later.

      Like

Leave a Reply

