Door-Door-Door

Someone’s knockin’ at the door /Somebody’s ringin’ the bell / Someone’s knockin’ at the door / Somebody’s ringin’ the bell / Do me a favor / Open the door and let’em in, ooh yeah … “  (Paul McCartney, “Let’em In”)

Thinking about doors, and don’t know why … Stranger things have happened, and I don’t know why.  Stranger things are not always a loss, not always a bummer, not always a washout.  And doors get opened, and doors get closed, and I really, seriously, don’t know why.

“When people keep repeating / That you’ll never fall in love /When everybody keeps retreating / But you can’t seem to get enough / Let my love open the door / Let my love open the door /  Let my love open the door … To your heart.”  (Pete Townsend, “Let My Love Open The Door”)

Below: http://fineartamerica.com/featured/red-door-quote-jamart-photography.html

http://fineartamerica.com/featured/red-door-quote-jamart-photography.html

Someone told me doors are to keep people out, and to keep people in.  Some sojourners are looking for a safe place, a place of rest.  Others may be looking for a non-safe place, where the crazy-talk is, where emotions are hellish.   I like safe places, and doors play a part in all that. Closed doors can really get to me.  Times like that, I ask “What am I supposed to do?  Where am I supposed to go?”  So, if you come by, find the door locked, leave me a voicemail, an EMAIL, a text, a scribbled note with some tape on the door, or a carrier pidgeon.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Door-Door-Door

  1. i love doors because i feel they are the portals to all sorts of things, as you move from one place to another. i have always enjoyed looking at pics of all kinds of doors, mostly old ones, i feel like they hold many stories on the other side of them.

    Like

  2. not sure how I missed this door post – it may be one of my favs of yours – the integration of the song, humor, photos, and meaningful message – this is just so tasty – and plus, I do love doors! ha!
    “doors get opened, and doors get closed, and I really, seriously, don’t know why…”
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

