Keep It REAL ! !

‘Learned about a woman, today, who wants to be Barbie.  Being a guy who lives at 8800 feet in the mountains, chops wood, snow blows, a family man, psychotherapist … I have no interest in Barbie, never have.  My daughter does not even like Barbie!

This story was surprisingly disturbing; my heart heavy, beyond measure for this woman. This story is a vivid, disruptive, metaphor for a fear of authenticity; and one’s fear of intimacy.  Check out the title of the article, published in the Huffington Post:

“Blondie Bennett, Barbie-Obsessed Woman, Uses Hypnotherapy To Make Herself Brainless”

Here are excerpts from the article in the Huffington Post.     (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/02/19/blondie-bennett-barbie-woman-hypnotherapy-stupid_n_4815495.html)

    • A California woman who describes herself as Barbie-obsessed says she uses hypnotherapy sessions in the hopes that it will decrease her IQ.
    • “I just want to be the ultimate Barbie. I actually want to be brainless,” Blondie Bennett, 38, told Barcroft TV. “I don’t like being human, if that makes sense… Natural is boring… I would love to be like, completely plastic.”
    • Bennett … five breast augmentations … other procedures in the hopes of attaining her goal. But now … undergoing hypnotherapy sessions two-to-three times a week in order to dumb down her thoughts.
    • She says it’s working.
    • “I’ve had 20 sessions and I’m already starting to feel ditzy and confused all the time,” Bennett told the Daily Mail.
    • She … loves her looks, (but) her plastic features tend to turn off a lot of people … friends and family don’t approve of her lifestyle.

I am not able to get past my belief that this story is about a woman who had / has great pain, not so much physical, but emotional … psychological … possibly traumatic.  We can all agree that life is intense, and at times some of us want to hide.  At other times our hiding is found in joining the crowd.  To be so passionate about removing your pain to the point that you don’t want to think, anymore, about anything … It feels tragic to me.  This story is a jagged picture of the deep desires to self-medicate.

I Feel Your Pain

The desperate longing to be someone other than who you are … Why?  Because of the pain.  And when it comes to pain, your pain is your pain.  I have NOT walked in your shoes, I do not know what it feels like for you.   And yet, because of my own journey, I feel some of your pain.

. Ta dah! #quotes #create #authenticity

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Keep It REAL ! !

  1. this makes me so sad for her. i believe you are right, perhaps she is a survivor or witness to something so bad or hard for her to process that she has to become a doll in order to cope with life. in doing so, she’ll lose her own emotions, her own ‘mind’ and her memories and become a new perfect creation with no flaws and no pain. heartbreaking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

