Outside Looking In

Hey, All: Eric Tonningsen’s blog is always worth reading. This post gives me a good reminder / opportunity about how to keep my eyes open so that I will not miss what & who is in front of me. Peace, T

Eric Tonningsen's Awakening to Awareness

“There are two sorts of curiosity – the momentary and the permanent. The momentary is concerned with the odd appearance on the surface of things. The permanent is attracted by the amazing and consecutive life that flows on beneath the surface of things.” ~ Robert Lynd

We all, I believe, have invaluable human encounters during our lives. One of mine happened in June, 2011. I was traveling cross-country and her name was Rose. She was considerably my senior and I, her captive audience for a while. I’ll share the full story of Rose in a later this spring post. Suffice it to say, Rose stunningly grounded my belief in the adage “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” a quote attributed to author George Elliot in 1860 and that became popular in the 1920’s.

Perhaps you have had the experience of encountering someone whose life seems so completely different from…

View original post 377 more words

One thought on “Outside Looking In

Leave a Reply

