Dilemma: Excellent DVD / Catharsis Prevention

‘Wrote a post a while back about movies that can make a man weep.  Here is a safety-tip: try to analyze the title of the movie, maintaining a high level of awareness, to avoid the possibility of tears.  For me, my preference is to ALWAYS avoid movies that have the potential to make a man weep.  Hey: a movie can get past you.  Sometimes the Mrs. picks out the movie right?  I have an excuse for “Bambi” and “Old Yeller”.  I was a kid.

So, my dilemma with this DVD, is that it made me weep.  I almost pulled it off.  I reached the end, and then … it happened.  So, gentlemen, I will go ahead and give you the name of the movie so that you can keep yourself from getting drawn into a movie that might cause you to weep in front of your wife or your girlfriend: AWKWARD ! & BUMMER!   So here is the movie: “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close”

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
http://www.dvd-covers.org/art/Blu_Ray_Covers/Movie_Blu-Ray_Custom_Covers/Copy

I usually don’t recommend movies that bring about some degree of weeping.  Another dilemma: I normally stay away from movies that come ANYWHERE close to the 9/11 tragedy (2001).  However, the movie really is not about the 9/11 tragedy.  It is about profound relational dynamics that come up with loss, grief, confusion, and re-connecting. “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” is a great movie.  I cautiously recommend the movie, with the understanding that even though this movie IS NOT ABOUT 9/11 … one could be triggered; thus, my caution.  The acting is top-notch / Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks.  I don’t know anything about the kiddo.  But he portrays an Aspergers kiddo.  And I guess that hits home, right in the breadbasket.  My son is an Aspergers kiddo.  Thomas Horn portrays the 9-year-old boy Oscar Schell, who is (in the movie) somewhere on the Autism spectrum, trying to make sense of everything.

 

Leave a Reply

