Awakened

The Awakened Heart, by Gerald May, speaks of “Entering the Emptiness”.  I was reminded of the Desert when I read this chapter.  I thought of the Desert Fathers, those interesting sojourners who left town for the Scetes Desert in Egypt around 3 AD.  After laying the book down next to the reading chair, one of my understandings of The Awakened Heart and “Entering the Emptiness” was May’s focus: becoming awakened from numbness and captivity from “attachment” to items / areas / relationships (and etc.).

Leaving one realm for another, with the goal of positive / authentic / significant change in mind could be seen as (my words) leaving one emptiness (stuckness in the here and now) for another emptiness (the freedom that awaits).  Paradox, possibly?  The latter emptiness is where one finds an “awakened heart”; freedom, a redemptive shift in one’s journey, one’s story.

My intent is to return to shorter posts, so I will wrap this up.  The word “awakened” showed up this morning, “post-wake-up” mode.  After pushing through the barrier of making coffee, I searched out the prehistoric laptop, because I was compelled to write about the reality of being  “Awakened”.   What does this look like, for me to be awakened?  What does it look like for you to be awakened?  The threats of numbness, and negative attachment are relentless.  I hope to keep the idea of being awakened in the front of my mind.  I hope you find success with this endeavor, as I try to do the same.

One thought on “Awakened

Leave a Reply

